Ajit Agarkar appointed chairman of Team India’s senior selection committee

NEW DELHI: Former India all-rounder Ajit Agarkar was on Tuesday appointed because the chief selector of the Staff India’s senior males’s choice committee.
“The three-member Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), consisting of Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape, beneficial his identify after the interviews for the stated place,” said a BCCI media launch.
The committee additional beneficial Agarkar for the function of chairman based mostly on the seniority (complete variety of Take a look at matches).
Agarkar represented the nation in 26 Assessments, 191 ODIs, and 4 T20Is, along with taking part in 110 first-class, 270 Record A, and 62 T20 matches.
Agarkar’s appointment will imply that West Zone could have two selectors with Salil Ankola being the opposite one. The others are Subroto Banerjee from Central Zone, S Sharath from South and SS Das from East.
Agarkar was a part of India’s victorious squad within the inaugural T20 World Cup held in South Africa in 2007. He nonetheless holds the document for the quickest half-century by an Indian batter in ODI, achieved with a 21-ball fifty towards Zimbabwe in 2000.
Agarkar has a Take a look at hundred at Lord’s and performed an enormous half in India’s Take a look at victory in Australia, again in 2004, with a six-wicket haul within the Adelaide recreation.
He additionally held the document for being the quickest to achieve 50 ODI wickets for practically a decade, undertaking the milestone in simply 23 matches.
Following his taking part in profession, he was appointed because the chief selector for the senior Mumbai crew and undertook teaching obligations with the Delhi Capitals.
Males’s Choice Committee: Ajit Agarkar (Chairman), Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, Sridharan Sharath.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button