ICC World Cup 2023: Pakistan name 15-member WC squad; injured Naseem Shah ruled out, Hasan Ali returns | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Younger quick bowler Naseem Shah was declared unfit for the upcoming ODI World Cup resulting from a shoulder damage, prompting the skilled medium pacer Hasan Ali to make an surprising comeback as Pakistan unveiled their closing 15-member squad for the event, set to kick off subsequent month.
The 20-year-old Naseem sustained a shoulder damage throughout a match in opposition to India within the Asia Cup, and medical recommendation has dictated that he endure surgical procedure for his restoration, which is anticipated to take three to 4 months.
Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq additionally launched three standby gamers who will function touring reserves for the World Cup marketing campaign: wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Haris, spinner Abrar Ahmed, and the tempo bowler Zaman Khan.
These gamers will stay on standby, able to step in if any accidents afflict the squad in the course of the event.

“We had been pressured to make one change due to an unlucky damage to Naseem Shah. We had a number of damage scares within the latest Asia Cup, however I’m glad to share that each one the gamers are absolutely match and are desperate to carry out for his or her nation within the all-important event,” Inzamam mentioned in a launch.
“I’ve acquired encouraging stories from our medical panel about Haris Rauf. He has began to (shadow) bowl on the Nationwide Cricket Academy and will probably be obtainable for choice.
“I’ve a agency perception that this squad can deliver the World Cup trophy to Pakistan and make the entire nation proud with their unimaginable performances. It’s time to get behind our workforce and supply them with the backing and help that they want.”
Pakistan will play two warm-up matches in opposition to New Zealand on September 29 and Australia on October 3 earlier than their event opener in opposition to the Netherlands on October 6.

The showpiece will probably be held in October and November in India.
Pakistan World Cup squad: Babar Azam (Caps), Shadab Khan (V.Capt), Muhammad Rizwan, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Saud Shakeel, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Wasim Junior, Agha Salman, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Osama Mir.
Travelling Reserves: Muhammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan.
(With inputs from PTI)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button